Jefferson-Morgan Elementary School

Skip to main content

Assignments

ELA 2019-2020

Instructor
Mrs. Lisa Moore
Term
19-20 School Year
Department
5th Grade

Upcoming Assignments RSS Feed

Due:

Spelling Test over “A Summer’s Trade” (green paper) is Wednesday, February 19

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words test over “A Summer’s Trade” is Thursday, February 20

Due:

Comprehension Test/TDA overcoming “A Summer’s Trade” is Friday, February 21

Due:

Attached are all of the FIDS documents your student will need in event of weather cancellation.  If you have any questions, please email at lmoore@jmsd.org

Past Assignments

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, Thursday, Feb. 13, 2020: WS "Hyperboles" -two sided!

Due:

Homework due Wednesday, February 12: WS on Idioms-two sided!!

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, Feb. 11:  Spelling Cursive Practice WS, Trace 1X, Cursive 2X

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, Feb. 4: Spelling WS  "Final Syllables -en, -an, -el, -le, -il "

Due:

Comprehension Test/TDA is Friday, January 31st

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "The Ch'i-lin Purse" (orange paper) is Thursday, January 30th

Due:

Spelling Test over "The Ch'i-lin Purse" (orange paper) is Wednesday, January 29th

Due:

Homework due Wednesday, 1/22: Spelling WS "Vowel Sounds with 'R'"

Due:

Comprehension Test / TDA is Friday, January 17th

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "Hold the Flag High" list (blue Paper) is Thursday, January 16

Due:

Spelling Test over "Hold the Flag High" list (blue paper) is Wednesday, January 15

Due:

Homework for tomorrow, 1/15:  Students should continue to work on the TDA they will be required to write on Friday's test.  Mrs. Moore will help students with their TDA in class tomorrow.  

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 1/14:  2 Worksheets - "Irregular Plurals" and "Possessive Noun Practice"

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 1/10:  Spelling WS "Irregular Plurals"

Due:

Homework due Thursday, January 9: WS "Spelling Sentences" This is a GRADED ASSIGNMENT! 

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, January 7: Spelling WS "Irregular Plurals"

Due:

Comprehension Test over "At the Beach" is Monday, December 9

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words test over "At the Beach" words (green paper) is Friday, December 6

Due:

Spelling Test over "At the Beach" list (green paper) is Thursday, December 5

Due:

Homework due tomorrow (Tuesday, Nov. 19): Spelling WS "Digraphs th, sh, ch, ph"

Due:

Comprehension Test over "Ten Mile Day" is Friday, November 15.  Students should review Common/Proper/and Collective Nouns.  

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "Ten Mile Day" (blue paper) list is Thursday, November 14.

Due:

Spelling Test over "Ten Mile Day" (blue paper) list is Wednesday, November 13

Due:

Homework due Thursday, November 7 - WS "Common and Proper Nouns"

Due:

  • Persuasive Campaign Speeches are due Monday, November 4.  
 
  •   This is a GRADED ASSIGNMENT.  All students will be writing a speech.  Students who are not actually running for an office will PRETEND they are running for the purpose of this assignment.   We will be writing the majority of these speeches in class.  However, students are responsible for writing their final copy at home!  Final copies may be typed on a computer or neatly hand written.  Final copies are due no later than Monday, November 4.  Guidelines are attached.  
 

Due:

Comprehension Test is Friday, November 1.  Students will read a passage and answer comprehension questions.  There will also be a few questions on Compound, Complex, and Simple Sentences.

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "Satchel Paige" words (yellow paper) is Wednesday, October 30th

Due:

Spelling Test over "Satchel Paige" list (yellow paper) is Tuesday, October 29th

Due:

Homework due Friday, October 25:  Spelling WS  "Adding -ed, -ing"

Due:

Homework due Thursday, 10/24: Spelling WS "Adding -ed, -ing"

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 10/23:  Spelling Cursive Practice WS (Trace 1X, Cursive 2X)

Due:

Spelling Homework due Tuesday, October 22: Spelling WS "Adding -ed, -ing" 

Due:

Comprehension Test over "Island of the Blue Dolphins" is Friday, October 18.  Students should review Independent/Dependent Clauses to prepare for this test.  Other than that, students will read a passage and answer comprehension questions.  

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "Island of the Blue Dolphins" (blue paper) is Wednesday, October 16.

Due:

Spelling Test over "Island of the Blue Dolphins" (blue paper) is Tuesday, October 15

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 10/11:  WS  "Independent and Dependent Clauses"

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 10/10:  Spelling Crossword WS

Due:

Homework due tomorrow, 10/9:  Spelling Sentences - this is  a GRADED ASSIGNMENT! 

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, October 8:  WS "Long Vowel Digraphs"  This WS is 2 SIDED!!

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words Test over "Thunder Rose" words (green paper) is Wednesday, October 2

Due:

Spelling Test over "Thunder Rose" List (green paper) is Tuesday, October 1

Due:

Homework due Friday, September 27:  Spelling WS "Long Vowel VCV"

Due:

Homework due Thursday, 9/26 : 2 Worksheets---  "Tune Up the Band" and Spelling Cursive Practice (Trace each word 1X, then write each word in cursive 2X)

Due:

Homework due Wednesday, 9/25: Spelling Sentences.  This assignment will be GRADED!!!  Students should be sure to follow all the directions on the worksheet :)

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, 9/24:  Spelling worksheet "Long Vowel VCV"

Due:

All students are required to complete a "Cereal Box Autobiography"  This is a GRADED assignment and it is due Monday, September 16.  Students were given a yellow paper with detailed directions.  The grading rubric is attached.  

Due:

Vocabulary/Amazing Words test over "Red Kayak" words is Friday, Sept. 13.  These words and definitions are on the back of the red Spelling List students were given on Tuesday, September 3.  

Due:

Spelling Test over "Red Kayak" list is Thursday, September 12.  This list is on red paper.  Students were given the new list on Tuesday, September 3.

Due:

Homework due Wed., 9/11:
   WS "Four Kinds of Sentences" 

Due:

Homework due Tuesday, September 10:
 Spelling WS  "VCCV, VCV"